Usually when I go to workout at the gym, I go at around the same time of day based on my schedule. During this time I have noticed "the regulars" who are also working out at the same time as me. These regulars all have their own nicknames that I have given them, or that I have learned nicknames of from my brothers or friends. Although I do not know these people personally, they all provide entertainment: Cali, Wrist doctor, The Pro, The Powerlifters, Crossfit Guy, Ripped Old(er) Lady, The Confederate Flag Biker guys, Brett Michaels, etc etc. Sometimes I wonder if other people are thinking of nicknames for me as well?! Probably! I guess that is the beauty of people watching...making an association with the regulars. I have come to really appreciate these people! My workouts are strength training based, so it's very interesting to see all the variations of lifts (some I have never seen before), facial expressions, form and volumes of grunting and breathing (yikes)!
The one thing I have noticed about the gym staff, in particular the personal trainers, is that a majority of them do NOT correct form with their clients. Usually I see their heads on a swivel, not paying attention to their client, checking the clock, or writing things down in a workout journal. I realize that this happens a lot and wonder to myself if these trainers have any idea what proper form and technique really is. Sometimes I wonder if they just hire anybody with a personal training certificate...which is really sad!
Now that my mornings will consist of stairclimbing, I am very excited to be silently introduced to the early morning crowd..maybe I'll come up with some even better nicknames and post them on here under comments.
Second that on the trainers allowing HORRIBLE form and technique at the gym!!!!! I see it a lot too. Love your nicknames! GOOD LUCK STAIRMASTER!
ReplyDeleteGlad to know I'm not the only one! Thanks Kathy :-)
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDelete