Thursday, June 13, 2013

My suit!!

The suit arrived on Monday!!! I'm so excited :) I shipped it back right away Monday afternoon because I needed the straps to be tighter/shorter. I had a mild case of saggy-ness in the chest region that needed immediate fixing! Here is a picture I took with my phone:

My suit!! :-)

My attention this last week and focus has been entirely on my diet and getting in as much cardio as possible...morning cardio, classes, lifting and sometimes a late night session if I can muster up the energy. Yesterday was by far the most tired, irritable and drained I have felt. Zero complex carbs plus trying to do the stairclimber was the worst. I know that this is the final week of working out and I want to make sure I have no regrets going into next weekend, or feel like I could have pushed harder. I don't see my coach until next Thursday, so I am both scared to death and excited at the same time to see her and find out my progress. Some have asked me what I am going to do after the show...my plan is to relax a bit, enjoy some food and drinks with family and friends and then get motivated again to compete in the fall. I know that going into this show next weekend that I won't be where I want to be for leanness, so with trial and error I know I can get better and feel better about what I can bring to the stage in October. My goal right now is to work hard this summer, compete in the fall and then take 2014 off of competing. I think my body needs a rest from dieting and that way I'll be able to continue eating clean, training hard and see what I can do on my own as far as improving my physique.

Today I did a cardio circuit on my own using a kettlebell and my own body weight to get a 30 minute session in before a training client. Sitting on the stairmaster or elliptical does not appeal to me at all today! I'm going to get outside for a walk this afternoon because the sun has FINALLY decided to come out :-) It's amazing what the sunshine can do for the mood! Then back to work to train and teach a few classes at the studio! Seeing my clients and working with members at the studio really keeps me motivated, even though I am the one doing the instructing. I will try to blog more especially over the next week and a half because everything will start to come together!

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Progress!

Welp. I'm coming into the final countdown of days (16) until the show! I just saw the competitor list this morning on facebook and oh boy things are real now!! There are 5 women in my category and they all look to be amazing athletes (according to my facebook searches)! I'm very excited to be up onstage among them. This week has had a good share of ups and downs energy wise. I've been cursing more during my lifting sessions, drinking a LOT more water and sweating the bejeezus out of all my workout apparel, and scarfing down lots of hashbrowns and eggs ;-) I had my mom take some posing pictures on Tuesday night at the studio after a long cardio day...different lighting, but I am starting to see some small changes happening in my waistline and legs.
Front Dbl Bicep

Side Tricep

Back Dbl Bicep
I've decided to email my "seamstress" tomorrow afternoon if I don't hear about my suit. Hopefully I can get an expected delivery date response and not be so paranoid about it! I meet with my coach tomorrow and will be showing her what I have so far for my routine...things are coming together! My family, friends and boyfriend have all been so extremely supportive and understanding during this whole process. I'm not sure where I would be without them and their constant motivation and positive feedback! Feeling very fortunate and blessed today :) f

Monday, June 3, 2013

Everyday Motivation

Well, my blogging skills over the last few days have really sucked. It's very easy for time to slip away and not take a break to sit down and write what's been going on! I have discovered a new role model to motivate and push me through these last few weeks. I'm not sure of his name or what he does for a living, but I see him almost every day. Rain or shine this older gentleman, I would assume probably over 60 years old, is outside run/walking the same route. I usually see him in the mornings before going to work or getting in my first cardio session. Although he is not moving at a fast pace, he is obviously determined to work on his fitness and the weather does not stop him ( a common excuse for many). He walks with a slight limp and his arms pumping through each step...People like this are such big motivators to me. Regardless of what is going on in their life, they still make time to do what is best for them. No matter what is going on in my life, the hour or so that I spend busting my butt is MY time. My time to collect my thoughts, think of new goals, challenge my mind and push my body to its limits. My workouts serve as a purpose for not only my upcoming competition, but to set the tone for the rest of my life. Someday I want to be that old man trudging through the rain on my walk or lifting weights among those half my age. Persistence pays off, and at this point in my competition prep I am very determined to make each day count. Getting "stage ready" is just a goal and a deadline for the show and my work doesn't stop once June 22nd comes. I want to continue making progress, transforming my body and my mind and accepting all the challenges along the way. As far as progress goes, I will be posting my 3 week photos soon for comparisons hopefully today or tomorrow :-)


Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Crossfit--Pain or Gain

Crossfit. When I hear the word I immediately relate it to my first time ever trying a class in the Twin Cities. Being an athlete at heart, I love being challenged and pushed, and doing this sort of workout appealed to me the first time I tried it. It was very intense, very sweaty and mentally tough to try to get through the pullups, rowing, burpees and barbell thrusters that myself and my partner had to complete. I loved every minute! What I didn't love was the price tag to become a member. I figured that if I wanted to do a crossfit style workout, I could google some and do them on my own. I still do this from time to time to change things up! Lately, I've been hearing chatter about injuries as a result of completing exercises to exhaustion (or past) to get as many reps as possible in a certain amount of time. In my opinion, Crossfit does teach foundational moves and exercises that are appropriate for multiple levels, but throwing all levels into a competitive workout leaves the door open for injury. One article that I have found to show both sides of the fence of Crossfit is here. Make sure to read the comments at the end of the article...very interesting! Some coming from members and some very great points from owners of Crossfit facilities. I think looking at the scientific background from reliable sources and doctors is a great way to form an opinion. Trying out something new and doing it with an open mind is also a great way to see if it works!

In other news, the stairmaster and I are really hitting it off this week ;-) I took some progress pictures yesterday of some posing practice and am looking forward to seeing more changes happen over the next few weeks! (25 days til the show!!) Posing suit BETTER be here this week or I might freak out...or try to practice my yoga breathing and know that everything will be fine! I'm really feeling like every meal, every minute of lifting, cardio and sleep really count for something. My posing routine needs some work though. I've been turning to many youtube videos of physique routines from the pro's to see how to make transitions smooth and use the stage to my advantage. I'm really looking forward to this show knowing that I really pushed myself out of my comfort zone and am trying something new and exciting! I'm planning to do another physique show this fall and continue working this summer, but making sure to take a few weeks off to enjoy some R&R. I figured I've been working hard for 4 months, why go backwards?! Below a few practice poses: Side Tricep, open palm Front Double Bicep and open palm Back Double Bicep. Fun stuff!
Open palm, front double bicep

Open palm back double bicep

Side Tricep, Leg Extended

Saturday, May 25, 2013

People Watching at the Gym

Usually when I go to workout at the gym, I go at around the same time of day based on my schedule. During this time I have noticed "the regulars" who are also working out at the same time as me. These regulars all have their own nicknames that I have given them, or that I have learned nicknames of from my brothers or friends. Although I do not know these people personally, they all provide entertainment: Cali, Wrist doctor, The Pro, The Powerlifters, Crossfit Guy, Ripped Old(er) Lady, The Confederate Flag Biker guys, Brett Michaels, etc etc. Sometimes I wonder if other people are thinking of nicknames for me as well?! Probably! I guess that is the beauty of people watching...making an association with the regulars. I have come to really appreciate these people! My workouts are strength training based, so it's very interesting to see all the variations of lifts (some I have never seen before), facial expressions, form and volumes of grunting and breathing (yikes)!

 The one thing I have noticed about the gym staff, in particular the personal trainers, is that a majority of them do NOT correct form with their clients. Usually I see their heads on a swivel, not paying attention to their client, checking the clock, or writing things down in a workout journal. I realize that this happens a lot and wonder to myself if these trainers have any idea what proper form and technique really is. Sometimes I wonder if they just hire anybody with a personal training certificate...which is really sad!

Now that my mornings will consist of stairclimbing, I am very excited to be silently introduced to the early morning crowd..maybe I'll come up with some even better nicknames and post them on here under comments.


Friday, May 24, 2013

Food and Meal Replacement Rant

Some days I get really fired up inside about certain topics and today is one of them :-) When it comes to health and wellness supplement companies, there are few that I like and others that I despise. First and foremost I believe that actually buying, preparing and cooking my food is the best way to get nutritional value. I use protein supplements when I am pressed for time or immediately after a workout. A lot of companies out there have all of these meal replacement shakes, bars, shots, goos, jellies, fruit snacks, you name it! And although I do see the reasoning behind having those things for situations where life gets hectic....am I really going to keep paying for my 2 shakes/bars per day that promise to help me slim down? Nope. How is something like this realistic for the long term? When has anyone ever said, "no thanks, I'd rather eat this little protein bar than go out for a healthy lunch"? (aka Special K diet...lose X amount of lbs in 2 weeks by only eating cereal and protein bars) Will spending a considerable amount of money on shakes and bars really get you the body you want? Probably not. Can your energy systems work properly if you are only drinking liquids all the time or bars with ingredients you can't pronounce? Probably not!

I admire the people who are trying new recipes, fresh produce, finding other sources of protein and trying to maintain a clean diet and find time for exercise. Lifestyle change! If you've been eating and exercising the same way for how many years and you still look the same, you probably need to completely change what you are doing. How can I get from point A to point B? By making an honest commitment to yourself that you will be better, even if there are small failures along the way. I have experienced failure/success many times with diet and exercise! How did I get into doing figure/physique shows? I decided to surround myself with supportive, positive people who believed I could do it and I changed my habits to get me to my goal. I have learned that there is no quick fix anywhere out there that will get you your "ideal" body. You have to put in the work, effort and find your own inner motivation to get what you want. This is a reminder that I need constantly and in all areas of my life, not just health. Today I accept who I am and keep pressing forward...each day is a new chance to get stronger!

Rant over,

Brittani

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Oatmeal, Coffee and Lawn Mowers

I woke up before my alarm clock this morning actually excited for the day! I had one client to train before heading down to the cities to meet my coach with another friend and competitor.  I decided to make my oatmeal in the microwave while simultaneously frying up some egg whites for breakfast. You would think I would be a professional at doing this now, since it is a frequently eaten meal of mine. Old Fashioned Oatmeal: 2-3 minutes in the microwave. I set it at 2, thinking I should be good. At about 30 seconds remaining I peek in the microwave to witness my oatmeal exploded and bubbling all over the place. DANGIT!!!! So what do I do? I grab my spoon and scrape off the blobs of oatmeal on the rotating plate and put them back in my bowl. Why would I waste another few minutes measuring and microwaving another batch?! I had to get going to train! I didn't make time to make coffee so stopped at caribou for one on the way into town. Took my first sip, hit a bump in the road and the coffee spills a decent amount right into my lap. Wearing thin sweatpants was not a good choice. The morning started off with a few more swear words than I anticipated.

Things got better after meeting with my coach. It's unbelievable how motivated and excited I am after meeting with her! We are changing things up again this week with the diet and adding in some early morning cardio sessions to try to drop the body fat lower this week. This is my "womanly-hormonal-I'm happy I'm sad I'm pissed off" week, so hoping that if I can make it through this week my body might be feeling back to its regular self come next friday.

Things are looking good! The sun is finally out today and wanted to get the lawn mowed before heading back to work for the night. It probably would be a great if I actually knew how to re-start a lawn mower. After taking one lap with the mower, the thing stopped completely. Weird? Tried checking the gas...fine. Tried pulling the start cord and the cord was stuck. Tried tightening a few buttons and pushed it back and forth. Pulled the cord again...stuck. WTF?! WHY?! So I wheeled that son of a b back into the garage, and here I now sit. Let's hope I don't burn myself, break anything or cause food explosions for the rest of the day.

On a sidenote, I should be receiving my posing suit this week...pictures to come soon :-D

Brittani